Je Suis Triste, I am Sad.

DSC_0186

Last night as I was watching a football International between Wales and The Netherlands, news began to break about the horrific events unfolding in the French capital, Paris. Sport suddenly became inconsequential.
La nuit dernière, alors que je regardais le foot international entre pays de Galles et les Pays-Bas, les nouvelles ont commencé à annoncer sur les événements horribles qui se déroulent dans la capitale française, Paris. Sport soudainement devenu sans conséquence.

This morning we woke to hear that over 125 people lost their lives, seemingly the victims of organised fanatical terrorists. Some died in restaurants, many at a rock concert, all innocently enjoying a Friday night out at the end of a working week.
Ce matin, nous nous sommes réveillés d’apprendre que plus de 125 personnes ont perdu la vie, apparemment victimes de terroristes fanatiques organisés. Certains sont morts dans les restaurants, un grand nombre à un concert de rock, tout innocemment bénéficiant d’un vendredi soir à la fin d’une semaine de travail.

How brave it must have been to stand with an automatic weapon and spray bullets into a crowd of unarmed people and how evil?
Quel courage il doit avoir été de se tenir avec une arme automatique et tirer des balles dans une foule de personnes non armées et comment le mal?

This week, around the world, ordinary people have been pausing to remember those who have died in conflict.
Cette semaine, dans le monde entier, les gens ordinaires ont pausé pour se souvenir de ceux qui sont morts dans les conflits.

It seems we now need to remember even more.
Il semble que nous devons maintenant me souviens même plus.

My heart weeps for Paris and France. I love that country and it’s people. I have many friends there.
Mon coeur pleure pour Paris et la France. Je adore ce pays et ses habitants. Je ai beaucoup d’amis là-bas.

La France, my friends, I stand with you.
La France, mes amis, je me tiens avec toi.

Vive La France!

Dookes

15 thoughts on “Je Suis Triste, I am Sad.

  1. So I don’t know French, but the English version was positively poetic. I know from reading your blog how much you love all that is France! Beautiful tribute Dookes.

    I’ll be in Paris in three weeks on a trip that’s been planned for months. I know it will be a very different Paris than I’m used to visiting and will be a city in deep mourning, but I consider it an honor to be able to go and stand with them in their grief. Viva la France!

  2. Thanks for sharing your heartfelt thoughts. Such a sad time for all. My heart breaks for all the families involved.

Leave a Reply

